Allied Members are not Architects, but are professionals in related fields, who collaborate with and support Architects in the creation of the built environment.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) {} has served as the leading voice for architecture professionals since its founding in 1857 and continues to be the most prominent membership organization for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners.

With the national association based in Washington, DC, the AIA is also able to meet the needs of its members at the state and local level via nearly 300 chapters both domestically and abroad {}. The mission of AIA is to serve as a resource for its members, allied professionals, and the general public through advocacy, community, education, and outreach.

AIA Central Valley is the local chapter of The American Institute of Architects.  Our local mission is to demonstrate and promote the value and contribution of AIA architects. We serve the 17 northern California counties of Alpine, Amador, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, and Yuba.  The Chapter has been in existence since 1942 and has grown from a group of 5 charter members to a current membership of over 500, serving architects, associates working towards licensure, students and allied professionals.

The Chapter holds regular events and activities including:  building tours, continuing education programs,  design dialogues, joint events with allied associations, Architectural Registration Exam (ARE) preparation classes, an annual Golf and Tennis tournament and a biennial design awards program  and a public-outreach event: Experience Architecture to name a few.

We celebrated our 75th year as a Chapter in 2017. Click below to view our:

“Did You Know?” presentation that includes fun facts and memories about AIACV and its members throughout the years.

Timeline Exhibit featuring our founding firms: Lionakis, Nacht & Lewis, CRM / Carissimi Rohrer McMullen Architects & Planners, Stafford King Wiese Architects, Dreyfuss + Blackford Architecture, and HMR (previously Herbert Goodpaster)

By-laws – Click below to view:
AIA Central Valley Bylaws
The Institute Bylaws

Click here to view our 5 year Strategic Plan.

A Primer on AIA Membership Designations
Curious what all those letters mean after a design professional’s name? We’re here to help decipher that alphabet soup for you. AIA members fall into different designations based on the status of their license as well as other criteria. With the exception of the Allied category, you’ll see our members using these abbreviations after their name to proudly indicate their AIA affiliation to the public and their clients.

  • AIA: U.S licensed architects
  • FAIA: Members elected to the AIA College of Fellows
  • Assoc. AIA: Unlicensed to practice architecture but meeting other professional criteria
  • Hon. AIA or Hon. FAIA: Honorary members
  • Intl. Assoc. AIA: Those with an architecture license or equivalent from a licensing authority outside the United States
  • Allied: Other building- or design-related professionals
  • Emeritus: Architect or associate members in good standing for at least 15 successive years who meet certain age and/or retirement criteria, who may continue using the designation they had prior to approval of their application for emeritus status